Sat nav v.10 update

VW have now released there NEW passat range. Please add any technical know how or info into here. NO FOR SALE/PARTS/TALK here..

Moderators: desertstorm, water01, vwnutant

cornishbloke
still on the production line
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 1:44 pm
Passat model: B7 Highline BMT
Location: South West

Sat nav v.10 update

Post by cornishbloke » Sun Feb 04, 2018 7:39 pm

I have just updated my RNS315 sat nav to version 10.

Has anyone had any problems/bugs with it?

What are, if any, the new differences compated to my old version (version 4)?

Thanks

User avatar
Bbdogz
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2016 8:33 pm
Passat model: B7
Location: Uk

Sat nav v.10 update

Post by Bbdogz » Sun Feb 04, 2018 8:30 pm

cornishbloke wrote:I have just updated my RNS315 sat nav to version 10.

Has anyone had any problems/bugs with it?

What are, if any, the new differences compated to my old version (version 4)?

Thanks
I would be interested to know this also as im looking to upgrade mine from version 4 to the latest version, also how much did this version set u back was it off ebay ect


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

cornishbloke
still on the production line
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 1:44 pm
Passat model: B7 Highline BMT
Location: South West

Re: Sat nav v.10 update

Post by cornishbloke » Sun Feb 04, 2018 9:03 pm

I bought from vw dealership. £89. Yes i know expensive and couldve got alot cheaper from ebay or another website. I chose to get from vw as i know its a 'proper' copy and if anything was to go wrong or corrupt software in rns315 then there's comeback with vw. If i bought from other source then things might be void if got corrupt or the system didnt work and had to go back to vw

User avatar
Bbdogz
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2016 8:33 pm
Passat model: B7
Location: Uk

Re: Sat nav v.10 update

Post by Bbdogz » Sun Feb 04, 2018 9:21 pm

Totally agree ive been to vw and they have quoted me the same im just doing a bit if looking around to be honest will probably follow the same route as yourself have you noticed any improvements yourself yet 👍🏻

cornishbloke
still on the production line
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 1:44 pm
Passat model: B7 Highline BMT
Location: South West

Re: Sat nav v.10 update

Post by cornishbloke » Mon Feb 05, 2018 6:03 am

Not yet, only updated it yesterday.it takes around 2 hours. I did look at a 2nd hand disc from ebay but did not buy it as once installed the car locks itself to the disc (within the software/licencing) so that disc can only be used with that car

cornishbloke
still on the production line
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 1:44 pm
Passat model: B7 Highline BMT
Location: South West

Re: Sat nav v.10 update

Post by cornishbloke » Fri Feb 09, 2018 7:59 pm

I found a glitch , 1st one so far. When using the nav features/screen, the console turns itself off. Im downloading the update again. If happens again I'll contact my local dealership

32110
B1
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 12:19 pm
Passat model: b7

Re: Sat nav v.10 update

Post by 32110 » Sat Feb 17, 2018 9:16 am

Seems to happen on mine. Anyone else had this problem? Have you found a solution @cornishbloke?

WAZ1
still on the production line
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 7:52 pm
Passat model: B7
Location: EAST LINTON

Re: Sat nav v.10 update

Post by WAZ1 » Sun Feb 18, 2018 10:50 pm

I've just updated my sat nav to version 10.
On the way home tonight I wanted to see if the Queensferry Crossing was on the update. I tried to put my home postcode in, but it wasn't there. It seems with the update my postcode now doesn't exist! even although it did on the previous version.
After I used a nearby postcode, and it had calculated the journey, it turned itself off a few minutes later, then restarted without me touching it. I then tried leaving the map on the screen without a destination and it done the same again, and started back up itself.
After the update the previous destinations that were on it wouldn't work, so I cleared all of them and started again.
Tried map only first and it stayed on, so after a while I put the destination in again. Drove nearly and hour and it didn't turn off.
I was wondering if the turning off and restarting was part of the updating process, or deleting the previous destinations helped. I don't know but will use it for every journey to see if it behaves.

32110
B1
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 12:19 pm
Passat model: b7

Re: Sat nav v.10 update

Post by 32110 » Mon Feb 19, 2018 8:46 am

I have a couple of saved destinations on mine. Will delete them and see if it then behaves properly. Will report back the results. At the moment I'm running from the SD card as I don't know if the system would allow me to revert back to v9 for which I also have the SD - anyone know if it is possible to load an older version?

WAZ1
still on the production line
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 7:52 pm
Passat model: B7
Location: EAST LINTON

Re: Sat nav v.10 update

Post by WAZ1 » Mon Feb 19, 2018 9:17 am

Tried it again coming to work this morning. Put work postcode in, and it turned off after a few minutes. Done this 3 times then it stayed on eventually after I had been driving for about 10 minutes.

32110
B1
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 12:19 pm
Passat model: b7

Re: Sat nav v.10 update

Post by 32110 » Mon Feb 19, 2018 9:38 am

WAZ1 Did you install the v10 software or run it from the SD card? Also have you checked to ensure that the system is using v10? You can do this by holding down the 'Setup' button for about 10 secs then use the menu presented to get to various details about the RNS 315 including map version.

WAZ1
still on the production line
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 7:52 pm
Passat model: B7
Location: EAST LINTON

Re: Sat nav v.10 update

Post by WAZ1 » Mon Feb 19, 2018 7:56 pm

Yes I installed it. Wish it was running on the SD card! I checked and the system is using V10. I've also done a factory reset, probably won't help but I'm trying everything at the minute!

32110
B1
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 12:19 pm
Passat model: b7

Re: Sat nav v.10 update

Post by 32110 » Mon Feb 19, 2018 9:13 pm

I deleted all saved destinations including 'Home' but I am still getting the system re-boot every few minutes.

WAZ1
still on the production line
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 7:52 pm
Passat model: B7
Location: EAST LINTON

Re: Sat nav v.10 update

Post by WAZ1 » Fri Feb 23, 2018 10:57 pm

It seems that mine turns off even when on the radio, SD card or CD. I originally thought it was only when it was on the map, as it did last weekend, but tonight, on an hour and half drive it rebooted every 4 minutes or sometimes slightly longer between for the duration of the journey. Gets a bit annoying after a while!
Does anyone know if there is a way I can update the software without going to VW? Or what version we are on now?

cornishbloke
still on the production line
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 1:44 pm
Passat model: B7 Highline BMT
Location: South West

Re: Sat nav v.10 update

Post by cornishbloke » Sat Feb 24, 2018 7:48 am

My car is booked in with the dealer this coming friday to see what they say

32110
B1
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 12:19 pm
Passat model: b7

Re: Sat nav v.10 update

Post by 32110 » Tue Feb 27, 2018 9:37 pm

cornishbloke, Please report back on here what you find.

32110
B1
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 12:19 pm
Passat model: b7

Re: Sat nav v.10 update

Post by 32110 » Tue Mar 06, 2018 8:11 pm

My supplier suggests that a new version is about to be released. Will keep this thread informed. cornishbloke, did you get anywhere with yours?

cornishbloke
still on the production line
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 1:44 pm
Passat model: B7 Highline BMT
Location: South West

Re: Sat nav v.10 update

Post by cornishbloke » Tue Mar 06, 2018 8:26 pm

Cancelled appointment due to snow and unable to get car out of my estate. Rebooked for 20th March.....i think lol

WAZ1
still on the production line
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 7:52 pm
Passat model: B7
Location: EAST LINTON

Re: Sat nav v.10 update

Post by WAZ1 » Tue Mar 06, 2018 9:24 pm

Mine is booked in for this Friday so I will let you know how I get on. I wish I had left it on the old version, at least it worked!
I was thinking of changing the unit for the RNS510, but after this I can't be bothered with the hassle it will no doubt bring.

32110
B1
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 12:19 pm
Passat model: b7

Re: Sat nav v.10 update

Post by 32110 » Wed Mar 07, 2018 8:54 pm

WAZ1 do you have an earlier version SD as I understand you can downgrade as well as upgrade.

WAZ1
still on the production line
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 7:52 pm
Passat model: B7
Location: EAST LINTON

Re: Sat nav v.10 update

Post by WAZ1 » Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:20 pm

No I don't have the older SD card, its the map that came already installed on the car unfortunately.

WAZ1
still on the production line
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 7:52 pm
Passat model: B7
Location: EAST LINTON

Re: Sat nav v.10 update

Post by WAZ1 » Fri Mar 09, 2018 1:47 pm

Well I've just got my car back. It isn't fixed.
It is a problem that VW know about and are currently trying to fix. VW own computer system doesn't allow the dealer to purchase a map for it, it is just saying there is a technical fault and VW are trying to fix it, I assume it is so that more cars aren't affected by dealers updating maps.
So until a solution is found it has to stay the way it is. The dealer will let me know when VW have an update to sort it.

cornishbloke
still on the production line
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 1:44 pm
Passat model: B7 Highline BMT
Location: South West

Re: Sat nav v.10 update

Post by cornishbloke » Fri Mar 09, 2018 2:13 pm

Could be a while before your notified.i cant see them being in a rush sorting a fix

cornishbloke
still on the production line
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 1:44 pm
Passat model: B7 Highline BMT
Location: South West

Re: Sat nav v.10 update

Post by cornishbloke » Wed Mar 21, 2018 7:33 pm

I took mine to dealer yesterday. Same as WAZ1, dealer will let me know when the fix is available. As i cant update to a previous version (have no disc), I'll have to put up with the console restarting every few minutes

32110
B1
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 12:19 pm
Passat model: b7

Re: Sat nav v.10 update

Post by 32110 » Wed Mar 21, 2018 8:51 pm

I think VW should put you back to the position you were previously in, after all, they have sold you a faulty product. Have a look at the link below and scroll down to "Your rights when buying digital content":

https://www.moneysavingexpert.com/shopp ... ge#digital

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests