Das Wagon, B5.5 sport...bits & pieces

The virtual show-'n'-shine - show us what you've got, plus some details about it! Feel free to add a pic of yourself so we can put a face to a name!

Moderators: water01, vwnutant, desertstorm

bigbennos
B4
Passat model: b5.5

Das Wagon, B5.5 sport...bits & pieces

Post by bigbennos »

I've owned Das Wagon for about 2 months now, so I thought I should start a thread.

A bit of background first as I'm a bit of a newbie.
My first car was a 1.0 nova saloon I was handed down from my mum when I passed my test. I ended up keeping it for years and spending a fortune on it. This was where I caught the modifying bug :D
I then had various nova's a GTE, an SR, an SRI, then an XR2 and finally a calibra all of which were modded in one way or another.
About 7 years ago I bought a house and started my business so I had to get sensible, so modified cars took a back seat. So a MK3 astra td estate and a mk4 astra have kept me going (just) in that time.
With the business ticking along nicely I thought it was time I treated myself to a new car.
My initial brief was something : Reliable, economical, spacious, with modding potential...and not too common.
I Quickly narrowed it down to a turbo diesel estate preferably VAG as I'd always wanted in the past but had always opted for the cheaper GM option #-o
So after more deliberating I decided on a passat estate... I was looking at B5.5 and B6's, but I prefer the look of the B5.5's and the B6's in my price bracket were higher mileage low spec models. So A B5.5 it was....now to find one
After scanning the net for months and only finding a couple of average examples I was losing hope of finding anything before christmas, when I found this advertised on Autotrader and only 35miles away
The following day I went and had a look. I put a deposit down there and then and picked it up 2 days later
Here's the spec
03 VW Passat B5.5 TDI 130 sport Variant, 70k miles, FVWSH
Usual Sport spec but a few optional extras: