Discover Pro update

Moderators: desertstorm, vwnutant

Post Reply
smilie121
B4
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 4:53 pm
Passat model: B8 GT DSG 230bhp
Location: Loch Lomond

Discover Pro update

Post by smilie121 » Mon Jan 14, 2019 7:57 pm

So the map update is straight forward looking at it - currently downloading the 32gb file and now realising its going to need a 32Gb SD card - the passat came with a 16Gb. I had read the Discover pro has a 32Gb internal eMMC but guess there's no room on it hence why the map data is on the 16Gb.

However i thought I saw a software and map update but can't see it now. I would like to update the software / firmware if its available as sometimes there is a bug after playing audio via bluetooth, when you turn it on there is no sound and you have to turn it off and on again to restore sound.

I was also wanting to see if it got around the cumbersome way of entering a post code, some on the T6 forum say they now have a post code button on the screen and don't need to enter the space. Obviously updated factoring in feedback from UK owners.

Has anyone done their's
Never underestimate the predictability of stupidity.

jmagee
B2
Posts: 156
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 10:19 pm
Passat model: B8

Re: Discover Pro update

Post by jmagee » Tue Jan 15, 2019 8:17 pm

I've done mine but realised after trying a couple of times I was trying to download the wrong software. My 17 Passat was actually the lesser radio even though it didn't look like it. To be honest I use Android auto more than the car sat nav but the navy updates are good.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk


v3burn
still on the production line
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 8:43 pm
Passat model: B8 RLine 190 DSG

Re: Discover Pro update

Post by v3burn » Tue Jan 15, 2019 8:45 pm

on the VW download site the images are not correct, I only have the std version but have to click the link showing the pro version!

I think its a 5gb download

smilie121
B4
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 4:53 pm
Passat model: B8 GT DSG 230bhp
Location: Loch Lomond

Re: Discover Pro update

Post by smilie121 » Wed Jan 16, 2019 6:50 pm

Well the update failed - said variant conflict

It was a 26Gb file. I checked again and the website claims I have a discover pro gen 2

I tried App connect but I need a activation code and carnet using my house wifi to update also needs a code. Googling suggests I will pay out £290 to VW's caviar portions at their next christmas do.

Am i right in thinking ODBeleven can do this - I know it can add features such as lap timer which I already have.
Never underestimate the predictability of stupidity.

v3burn
still on the production line
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 8:43 pm
Passat model: B8 RLine 190 DSG

Re: Discover Pro update

Post by v3burn » Wed Jan 16, 2019 7:45 pm

when I first updated I deleted the existing files but didn't format the card, the install failed.

save existing files on to the PC / Laptop you are using to download the update, then format the sd card and then put all the new files on and see how that goes.

smilie121
B4
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 4:53 pm
Passat model: B8 GT DSG 230bhp
Location: Loch Lomond

Re: Discover Pro update

Post by smilie121 » Wed Jan 16, 2019 8:08 pm

issue is the supplied card is 16gb and the download is 26gb
Never underestimate the predictability of stupidity.

jmagee
B2
Posts: 156
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 10:19 pm
Passat model: B8

Re: Discover Pro update

Post by jmagee » Wed Jan 16, 2019 10:54 pm

That's the wrong download I'd say. You need the other one which is much smaller. I had the exact same issue when I downloaded the wrong one

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk


smilie121
B4
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 4:53 pm
Passat model: B8 GT DSG 230bhp
Location: Loch Lomond

Re: Discover Pro update

Post by smilie121 » Thu Jan 17, 2019 9:25 am

I must have a Forrest Gump moment or something 'cos it aint a box ov chocoletttes for me

Where are you seeing that? I select the Gen 1 and its 26Gb, Gen 2 26Gb

If i use the DiscoverCare it does the same selecting gen 1 or 2 of if choosing my car model and year
Never underestimate the predictability of stupidity.

jmagee
B2
Posts: 156
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 10:19 pm
Passat model: B8

Re: Discover Pro update

Post by jmagee » Thu Jan 17, 2019 7:39 pm

I've a feeling it's this one. https://webspecial.volkswagen.de/vwinfo ... ee228c0e5a

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk


smilie121
B4
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 4:53 pm
Passat model: B8 GT DSG 230bhp
Location: Loch Lomond

Re: Discover Pro update

Post by smilie121 » Fri Jan 18, 2019 11:04 pm

Just goes to the page selection.

I click on Passat Varient

2014 on (not 2017)

Then it shows discover pro gen 2

Maps are europe or US+ others

Downloadables are discover care or europe map (26gb)

???????
Never underestimate the predictability of stupidity.

jmagee
B2
Posts: 156
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 10:19 pm
Passat model: B8

Re: Discover Pro update

Post by jmagee » Sat Jan 19, 2019 10:29 am

Try the discover media unit.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk


smilie121
B4
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 4:53 pm
Passat model: B8 GT DSG 230bhp
Location: Loch Lomond

Re: Discover Pro update

Post by smilie121 » Sat Jan 19, 2019 2:39 pm

But i have a pro gen 2

????
Never underestimate the predictability of stupidity.

jmagee
B2
Posts: 156
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 10:19 pm
Passat model: B8

Re: Discover Pro update

Post by jmagee » Sat Jan 19, 2019 5:47 pm

I thought I did too but I'm sure that's the software that worked. Mine has the maps SD card rather than a normal SD card.

Might be worth backing up your SD card and giving it a go.

I don't actually know how to find out which unit it is other than the pictures and honestly that's the maps I used in the end

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk


smilie121
B4
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 4:53 pm
Passat model: B8 GT DSG 230bhp
Location: Loch Lomond

Re: Discover Pro update

Post by smilie121 » Sun Jan 20, 2019 11:54 am

I guess a map update is a map update regardless of model of radio

However I was hoping for a software update for the radio.
Never underestimate the predictability of stupidity.

v3burn
still on the production line
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 8:43 pm
Passat model: B8 RLine 190 DSG

Re: Discover Pro update

Post by v3burn » Mon Jan 21, 2019 8:03 pm

whatever is the size of your current maps is an indication if you are trying to download the correct version, IE if your map file is 26gb then its something you are doing wrong, if you file size is 5gb then you are downloading the wrong version.

smilie121
B4
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 4:53 pm
Passat model: B8 GT DSG 230bhp
Location: Loch Lomond

Re: Discover Pro update

Post by smilie121 » Tue Jan 22, 2019 12:59 pm

Not wanting to argue but I can't see how I am doing it wrong. Try for yourself

Go here : https://webspecial.volkswagen.de/vwinfo ... download#/

Select any Passat - i have even tried Passat / Passat GTE / Alltrack / Golf / Golf GTD / Golf GTI / Sharan / Tiguan

Selecting the year either 2014 / 2015 or newer depending on what option you choose (i have a 2016 plate). Select Discover Pro and all offer the same download called P175_N60S5MIBH3_EU which is 24.4Gb in Chrome or 25Gb in Edge. I had read the Discover pro has a 32Gb eMMC SSD so assume the update is for the unit.

If you choose Discover Media, as above with various models, you get a download of 12.5Gb

If you use the Discover care app - it again, downloads the same files depending what you select.
Never underestimate the predictability of stupidity.

masty115
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2019 3:36 pm
Passat model: b7

Re: Discover Pro update

Post by masty115 » Wed Feb 13, 2019 6:38 pm

Hi guys I'm a newly on here ,I've got a 2015 Passat 2.0 business tdi ,I've just bought 32gb sd card ,can someone talk me through the simple person guide to updating my software ,not only have I lost my maps and live traffic I've also lost my telephone connecting ,will these all be linked to the update needed .


Thanks jim

masty115
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2019 3:36 pm
Passat model: b7

Re: Discover Pro update

Post by masty115 » Wed Feb 13, 2019 6:58 pm

These are the messages I'm getting


hi guys I have passat 2015 .
my sat has stopped working .the message I'm getting is .THE NAVIGATION DATA IN THE INFONTAINMENT SYSTEM IS NOT VSLID .PLEASE CHECK DATA. when I take the sd card out with the maps on and put it back in I'm getting NAVIGATION IS NOT SUPPORTED ....has anyone had the same issue and what us the possible diagnosis??.also when I press the phone button it says TELEPHONE NOT AVAILABLE. bluetooth aint picking it up .....any help would be grateful......tha

DJC
still on the production line
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2018 11:55 am
Passat model: B8

Re: Discover Pro update

Post by DJC » Wed Feb 13, 2019 10:24 pm

Thought map updates were free.
When l had a problem under warranty l got my dealer to order me a new SD card with the latest updates.

jmagee
B2
Posts: 156
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2017 10:19 pm
Passat model: B8

Re: Discover Pro update

Post by jmagee » Wed Feb 13, 2019 10:26 pm

Only free to download over the web I thought. Pretty good if the dealer has given you an update for free.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk


smilie121
B4
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 4:53 pm
Passat model: B8 GT DSG 230bhp
Location: Loch Lomond

Re: Discover Pro update

Post by smilie121 » Wed Feb 13, 2019 10:29 pm

Sounds like you buggered it? Did you make a backup to revert to?

If you have a discover pro gen 2 like myself I would be happy to clone it over to an SD card for you
Never underestimate the predictability of stupidity.

v3burn
still on the production line
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 8:43 pm
Passat model: B8 RLine 190 DSG

Re: Discover Pro update

Post by v3burn » Thu Feb 14, 2019 2:00 pm

make sure you format the sdcard first, once this is done copy over the downloaded files and it should all start...

also make sure you have the correct download, the OP has had all sorts of issues as you can see.

masty115
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2019 3:36 pm
Passat model: b7

Re: Discover Pro update

Post by masty115 » Fri Feb 15, 2019 1:50 pm

how long should the download take

v3burn
still on the production line
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 8:43 pm
Passat model: B8 RLine 190 DSG

Re: Discover Pro update

Post by v3burn » Sat Feb 16, 2019 11:07 am

masty115 wrote:
Fri Feb 15, 2019 1:50 pm
how long should the download take

depends on your broadband connection, I have an 80mb connection and it took like 20 mins

User avatar
witchy
still on the production line
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 11:20 pm
Location: Cambs
Contact:

Re: Discover Pro update

Post by witchy » Wed May 15, 2019 6:52 pm

Bumping an old-ish thread but I've just done this after picking up my '16 190SCR GT last week. It came with an official VW Maps SDcard but as has been mentioned a few times here it's only 16GB whereas the Discover Pro update needs 26GB. The Infotainment website mentioned by @smillie121 does indeed point you to the Discover Pro Gen 2 for my car and after trying the update over 2 nights with an SDcard written on both Mac and PC I gave up.

Then I used the DiscoverCare app and told it my unit is the Discover Media instead, fed it the original SDcard and it downloaded 6GB's worth of updates and put them on the card. This appears to have worked and under 'version' now in Nav it shows me '2019'.

Still doesn't feature the road near me that opened in October last year though so I guess I'll have to wait for the next update :D

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest